Done

I know that I talk a lot of about getting chores and “to do” lists. Sometimes I wonder if my life is a series of those things: things to be done. I never really feel “done” at the end of the day, as if I am leaving a series of tasks untackled and items unattended.

I must confess, also, that I get a sense of accomplishment from getting things “done”. I like looking forward to the end of the day when I know that I will be doing something at home that I like to do, that will make a difference in our lives or will let my creative juice flow. Whether it be finishing up the chrome restoration on my bike or mulching our flower bed, I feel better when it’s done by my own two hands.

We’ve lived in our house for almost three years. I think I’ve written her before about my hesitancy in hanging artwork. I’m not sure why. I think that I am somewhat overwhelmed by a blank slate. I think I might be consumed by the fact that we have large expanses of wall space needing some decorating. Perhaps I am just indecisive. However, I’ve been trying to break that cycle of indecision recently.

Last night we finally hung not one, not two, but six items in the house. Granted some of them were in groupings, but still, we got it done.

And I am pleased. I’ve always wanted to be surrounded by artwork and furnishings specific to us. So, what you see above is my own version of artwork. Decorative papers placed in bargain frames. Suits us, I think. Simple, created (somewhat) by us. One good thing done. . . . many, many more to go.

One response to “Done

  1. I hear you on the never ending to-do list. Just as soon as my list gets low another dozen things land on it.

    But I can’t say I have trouble hanging things on walls =)

Leave a Reply

