Complete

It feels as if I haven’t finished a knitting project in a very long time. Perhaps that is because I’ve nearly knit this sweater twice.

It’s the Lightweight Pullover by Hannah Fettig, using some Plymouth Alpaca Prima I bought for a song at SAFF several years ago. I like gray, I like gray a lot. I wear gray a lot. One of my favorite sweaters is gray, but has seen better days and doesn’t quite fit as well as it once did. When I saw this pattern and remembered this yarn, I thought it was a match made in heaven. And it was. . . eventually.

What happened:  I knit the entire sweater in what I thought was my standard size (and assuming I was on gauge the entire time). However, something didn’t feel right and I knew it, I  knew it sooner than I cared to admit. I didn’t heed my gut and knitted on.

However, as I started binding off the body, I decided to try it on, just for fun. And while I could have worn it and it would have been comfy, it was much, much too big. I knew I couldn’t live with that, so I ripped and I ripped and I ripped.

Starting over:  And I started anew. I took a chance, went down a needle size (from a 6 to a 5) and knitted the smallest size. What did I have to lose, right?

Thoughts/Modifications:  Risk sometimes pays off. I don’t think I’ve knit a sweater with a better fit for me. It’s a standard classic. Good with jeans. Good with a skirt. It’s warm and it’s simple and it’s classic. An easy knit and a rewarding one, even though I did it twice. The yarn was easy to knit with and it made for a nice fabric (after steaming), but it’s not something I’d delight in using again.

As for modificiations, of course, there were the adjustments for size and the needle; but I skipped the side decreases and did only the hip/waist increases.

Now it’s just too darned warm to wear it.

Leave a Reply

