Him

IMG_6487IMG_6492

IMG_6491One of the things I like most about traveling is doing it with Cynical. We may not always agree on everything, but we tend to be very, very in tune with each other when we are on the road. We are a team, he and I. And I am reminded of that each time we pack up the car and head out.

On Sunday we took a little time to ourselves while the rest of my family was occupied. After breakfast we perused a grocery store, snagging things not available locally for us. Next up we went to Malaprop’s, a favorite bookstore. I am sure for Ashevillians it’s taken for granted, but for me, I like the arrangement there, the aisles of books, the section for local and North Carolinian authors. I like the staff suggestions and the fact that it’s a small, cozy shop.

As the day was gorgeous, we took full advantage of the sun and walked around downtown a bit, soaking up the sun, listening to the buzz and window shopping.

We met up with my youngest brother and his family for dinner, listening to the fascinating chit-chat of the kids and catching up with him. Tod’s Tasties was a new stop for us as well and it was a nice chance to have  a leisurely lunch.

We parted ways, giving the little family time to play and prepare for the week. Cynical and I headed to Mr. K’s, a wonderful used bookstore for a little perusing. Oh, how I love to peruse bookstores.

And it was time for a nap. Cynical and I, you see, have become nappers. . . particularly on Sundays.

We were able to meet up with my oldest brother, sister-in-law and the kids for a “pizza” party at Marco’s, complete with spumoni, baby time and a funny, funny three-year-old.

And as Cynical says regularly, we have one great sister-in-law. I catch myself chatting her up to the point I am sure she’s ready to raise her hand and scream, “Stop”. But, she’s truly an easy person to chat up, visit with and hang out with.

Afterward it was time for bed. We’d meet the next morning for breakfast.

Leave a Reply

