Lastly

And now for a few other assorted projects. I did some holiday knitting including my own versions of the Felicity hat. Here you see two of them. I neglected to photograph a third. Simple, simple, simple knit. Easy-peasy, but very cute on. Loving the slouchy hats.

Next up you see a cabled hat that was both fun to knit and rewarding to give. I used the Winter Trails pattern and made this hat using Berroco alpaca for my sister-in-law. Much fun to knit, a little drapey, but very warm and well received.

Another stashbuster was the Magical Malabrigo Scarf. My take used Manos Clasica, which has been waiting in the stash for quite a while. Again, an easy knit, but honestly, I really, really like this scarf and I think it played on the colors of the yarn well.

I love fingerless mitts and recently knit up two pair. The first was designed by Ann Hanson, the Plain Jhaynes. I liked the idea of a laceweight version and even though mine came out a tad too stripey for my own tastes, I really love the weight of them. I’d definitely knit another pair.

The green pair are using the Zombie ViXen pattern. As a huge “Walking Dead” fan, how could resist. And I wear them all the time.

Then there are the simple, basic socks using Schoppel-Wolle Zauberball. Just a simple knit. And I still love how pretty the colors worked up.

I hadn’t knit an afghan and wasn’t sure I’d ever want to, but I finally dug out some of my yarn that had literally been in my stash since I first picked up needles. I picked up the Shetland Chunky Tweeds, cast-on 125 stitches on size 11 needles and went to it, using a simple seed stitch. Upon washing it pilled like crazy, but it’s comfy, stretchy and my-sized. Overall, a useful stashbuster.

IMG_6242_medium2 IMG_6297_medium2 IMG_6237_medium2 IMG_6300_medium2 IMG_6408_medium2 IMG_6404_medium2 IMG_6416_medium2 img_6106_medium2

Leave a Reply

