Drive

photo

The ticklist for this trip was tricky. Doctor’s visit. Check. Visit with my aunt. Check. Decompression session with my best friend. Check.

I’ve never minded traveling alone. As much as I love company, I am always just as at ease riding alone in my car. The sun was shining. I’d packed plenty of music. I felt comfortable with my loaded GPS.

The doctor’s visit was positive, fruitful and settling. The time with my aunt was well spent. It’s a slow process, helping her learn to trust and lean on me. It will be time well spent, but it’s a test of patience and an opportunity to show love.

Wrapping up the trip with a longer-than-expected visit with a dear friend was perfectly timed. I needed to see her. Despite being “amped up” from the drive and the day, I feel most like myself around her. No pretense. No stress. Now showmanship. Just two girls talking, sharing and soaking up the honesty. She’s my match. She’s what I needed.

I got home much later than expected.

Leave a Reply

