Peace

photo

I haven’t been here in a while. I’m not sure why. I think perhaps that I’ve spent less time in the computer world lately, and more in my real world. That’s not a bad thing, but I do miss putting fingers to keys and putting my own words out there, simple as they may be.

As a matter of catching up, I celebrated the holidays in a number of ways and with a number of people. I’ve gotten in the habit of taking two weeks off around the holidays. And I never regret it. It’s a luxury to meet friends for extended lunches, host and be hosted not within the confines of workday commitments, and to take a daily 2 p.m. nap. I lunched. I went to movies. I met up for extended conversations over sushi. I knitted with loved ones. I played with little ones. I opened gifts. I gave gifts. I decorated trees. I undecorated them also. I ate lots of sweets and meats. I rang in the new year with a belly full of wine. It was good; it was a very good way to wrap up 2013.

Up until about now, our winter weekends have been full. Last weekend, however, was open and free. Cynical didn’t work. I had no plans. I’m not sure that’s always a good combination. We flittered away most of our weekend with naps and television. I did knit a little, clear out a little, organize a little, clean a little, walk a little, errand a little, plan a little. . . but nothing big. It was nice, just the two of us. I found myself a little stir crazy on Saturday.

As for 2014, I made resolutions. I selected my word “peace”. I have kept to most of my plans, and have shorted a few others. I’m taking the stairs. I’m trying to get more water. I’m doing a line-a-day journal which includes a goal for the day, a gratitude list, a simple line and a lesson I learned. Thus far I find it rewarding, but I also find that I often have the same goal for each day. For now it is to listen more and talk less. Let’s see how that goes.

I’m also looking at some monthly (30-day goals). So far, so good, said the girl that realizes it’s January 13.

Hoping you are warm, hydrated and reading something good.

One response to “Peace

  1. Glad to hear you’re doing well and had a wonderful set of holidays!

Leave a Reply

