Inside

Trees carved out of ice. Crunchy snow beneath our feet. Footprints making a path across the lawn. We’re blanketed in winter. Unlike other naysayers, I don’t mind. The cold, the ice, the snow. . . they are all a good reason to tuck ourselves safely inside, knit something warm, read something good, fill our bellies with comfort foods, don our flannel pajamas and burrow under the covers.

It’s not that I don’t like summer, spring or fall, but I have a healthy appreciation for winter. It’s an opportunity to slow down, to take care of ourselves from the inside out. It’s a chance to focus on who we want to be, who we are becoming and where we are going. . . all in preparation for our own mental and spiritual spring.

I’m taking advantage of this season of hibernation. I’m digging into my house, purging it of what’s not necessary, clearing out the cobwebs both figuratively and literally. I’m changing from the inside out.

Leave a Reply

